2022 Awards and Grants

Ruth Sanger Oration

Dr Helen Savoia
Royal Children’s Hospital VIC

Peter Schiff Award (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Dr Ellen Maxwell
Haematology, Melbourne Pathology


Presidential Symposium Award

Assoc Professor Ruchika Goel

Blood Donor, Component and Recipient-Specific Factors Associated With Venous Thromboembolism in Transfused Hospitalized Adult Patients: Data from the Recipient Epidemiology and Donor Evaluation Study-III (REDS-III)

ANZSBT Member’s Award

Ms Mia Sarri

Assembling a reference RHD gene to personalise transfusion management for the Indigenous Australian population

Young Investigator Award for Best Abstract (proudly sponsored by the National Blood Authority)

Ms Yusra Shahid

Predicting the severity of cardiac iron-overload in transfusion dependent thalassemia (TDT) patients through deep learning

Best Haemovigilance Award (proudly sponsored by the National Blood Authority)

Ms Dolly Mathew – Joondalup Health Campus (Ramsay Health Care)

A comprehensive neonatal-paediatric intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIG) treatment plan developed to improve health care outcomes for children requiring IVIG infusions in Australia


Best Patient Blood Management Award (proudly sponsored by the National Blood Authority)

Dr Allison Mo – Monash Hospital VIC

Making decisions about platelet transfusions in patients with myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS): a clinician survey to inform future clinical trials

Immulab Blood Bank Laboratory Award (proudly sponsored by Immulab) 

Mr Filip Radenkovic

Type of anti-human neutrophil antigen 3a antibody and potential impact on transfusion-related acute lung injury development


Best Poster Prize

Ms Silvia Zheng

Novel insight into platelet refractoriness


Transfusion Professionals Free Communications Award Clinical Transfusion Practice (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Ms Maree Perry

Culturally safe blood transfusion and blood donation for Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander peoples


ANZSBT Research Grants



Dr Dianne van der Wal Crosstalk between platelets and cancer cells: do cancer cells interact with transfused platelets
Assoc. Professor Hergen Buscher Red BlOod Cell TranSfusion in ECMO – a feasibiliTy TriAl (the ROSETTA trial)
Drs Melinda Dean & Helen Faddy
Understanding the Pathophysiology of the Monocyte Monolayer Assay (MMA): Characterizing the Inflammatory Response to Clinically Significant anti-RBC Antibodies
Dr Aarany Sivakaanthan Supporting the clinical need for Gerbich negative blood in Papua New Guinea (PNG)

CSL Behring PhD Scholarship 2022


Ms Suelyn Van den Helm Towards personalised blood product therapy after cardiopulmonary bypass in neonates and infants


South East Asia/Pacific Islands Registration Award (co-sponsored by the International Society of Blood Transfusion)


Dr Putri Srihartaty Indonesia
Ms Septiana Veronica Indonesia


Overseas Travel Award (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Dr Rena Hirani – Australian Red Cross Lifeblood


ANZSBT Travel Grants Grants (proudly sponsored by BloodSafe eLearning Australia and CSL Vifor)

Dr Allison Mo Monash Hospital VIC
Ms Mia Sarri Australian Red Cross Blood Lifeblood
Professor David Roxby Flinders University SA