2019 and 2020 Awards and Grants


Peter Schiff Award (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Mr John Dagger


Ruth Sanger Oration

Dr Ian Prosser


Peter Schiff Award (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Professor Robert Flower


Presidential Symposium Award

Dr Maria Saito-Benz

“Randomised controlled trial of freshly irradiated versus standard red cell transfusion for treatment of anaemia of prematurity”


Young Investigator Award for Best Abstract (proudly sponsored by the National Blood Authority)

Ms Alana Delaforce

“Assessing transfusion practice in elective surgical patients: a baseline audit to identify opportunities for improvement”


Best Haemovigilance Award (proudly sponsored by the National Blood Authority)

Ms Deborah Pinchon

“Haemovigilance in WA – what does 3 years of state – wide reporting tell us?”


Transfusion Professionals Award on Patient Blood Management (proudly sponsored by Vifor Pharma)

Ms Victoria McDougall

“When less is more: red cell use at Perth Children’s Hospital”


Transfusion Professionals Award on Clinical Transfusion Practice (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Ms Soyoung Choi-Maxwell

“Positive impact of small group face to face blood bank teaching on transfusion practice”


Immulab Blood Bank Laboratory Award (proudly sponsored by Immulab) 

Ms Clare Manderson

“Pretransfusion testing using laser incubation”


Best Poster Prize

Ms Joanne Tan

“Evaluation of a novel hypoxic storage system for red blood cells in different additive solutions”


ANZSBT Research Grants

Dr Allison Mo A longitudinal population study of current transfusion needs and changes over time in elderly patients with myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS)
Dr Anastazia Keegan Transfusion Resources for Rural and Remote Western Australia
Ms Aoibhe Mulcahy What is the most frequent RH Blood Group Haplotype suitable for use as a reference for typing the Indigenous Australian population?
Ms Sophie Shand Identifying barriers and improving access to Ambulance Service blood product transfusion
Ms Lauren Waters Use of calcium chelators to mitigate cryopreservation-induced damage to platelets
Ms Maree Perry Blood – Beliefs held by Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander peoples
Dr Rebecca Munk Correction of preoperative iron deficiency in children undergoing elective spinal fusion. A randomised control trial of intravenous iron vs. oral iron therapy


South East Asia/Pacific Islands Travel Award (co-sponsored by the International Society of Blood Transfusion)



Putri Srihartaty Indonesia – P Srihartaty Report
Natasha Philip Papua New Guinea – N Philip Report
Josefina Oqui East Timor – J Oqui Report


Overseas Travel Award (proudly sponsored by CSL Behring)

Ms Christine Akers

Alfred Hospital, Pathology Department, VIC


ANZSBT Travel Grants (proudly sponsored by Abbott Australasia)

Nicole Zacher Capital Pathology, ACT
Rebecca Wellburn Australian Red Cross Blood Service, QLD
Soyoung Choi-Maxwell New Zealand Blood Service, New Zealand
Monique Menzies-Wojtowicz Liverpool Hospital, ACT