2018 Awards and Grants

Ruth Sanger Oration

Associate Prof. David Roxby

Associate Prof. David Roxby


Peter Schiff Award (sponsored by CSL Behring)

Chris Hogan

Dr Christopher Hogan



CSL Behring Overseas Travel Grant

Alison Badger
New Zealand Blood Service, Auckland NZ

Neil Waters
Transfusion Research Unit, Monash University, VIC


ANZSBT Research Fund

Wayne Dyer
Dr Wayne Dyer – ARCBS, Alexandria, NSW
“Alternatives to red cell transfusion to treat anaemia”

Allison Mo
Dr Allison Mo – Monash University, Melbourne, VIC
“A feasibility randomised controlled pilot trial of weekly-interval red cell transfusion schedule in myelodysplastic syndromes: REDDSW2 pilot study”

Edward Chew
Dr Edward Chew – The Royal Melbourne Hospital Parkville, VIC
“Has availability of red cell concentrates on Air Ambulance Victoria improved patient outcomes?”


South East Asia/Pacific Islands Travel Award (co-sponsored by the International Society of Blood Transfusion)

Halimatun Othman – Malaysia
Monalisa Tuaifaiva – Samoa
Miranda Huanimaha – Solomon Islands

Presidential Award

Dr Candice Thomson – Flinders Medical Centre, Bedford Park, SA
“Extending the Post-Thaw Viability of Cryoprecipitate”

Poster Prize

Dr Nicholas Bingham – Alfred Health/Peninsula Health, VIC
“Infusions of Intragam 10® increase serum free light chain
measurement in plasma cell myeloma patients with
secondary hypogammaglobulinaemia”


Young Investigator Award for Best Abstract (sponsored by the NBA)

Ms Alexis Perros – ARCBS, Kelvin Grove, QLD


Award on Haemovigilance (sponsored by the NBA)

Ms Christine Akers – Alfred Hospital, Prahran, VIC
“Transfusion associated circulatory overload: promoting awareness and reporting”


TP Award in Patient Blood Management (sponsored by Vifor Pharma)

Ms Kristen Brown – Murrumbidgee Local Health District, Wagga, NSW
“A practical and patient centred approach to the identification and management of iron deficiency and iron deficiency anaemia”


TP Award in Clinical Transfusion Practice (sponsored by CSL Behring)

Ms Tanja Windegger – University of the Sunshine Coast, QLD
“Health and quality of life impacts of switching from IVIG to SCIG treatment in patients with primary immunodeficiency disease”


ANZSBT Travel Grants to the ASM (co-sponsored by Haemonetics Australia)

Ms Agnes Yuen – Monash Health, Clayton, VIC

Ms Emily Cappy – PathWest Fiona Stanley Hospital, WA

Ms Kristen Brown – Murrumbidgee Local Health District, Wagga, NSW