Standing Committees

There are currently three Standing Committees, the Clinical Practice Improvement Committee, the Education Standing Committee and the Transfusion Science Committee,  that deliver the objectives of the ANZSBT Strategic Plan and assist in priority setting of key issues.

The Standing Committees’ Terms of Reference outline the membership, process and function and are reviewed every 2 years.

View the Standing Committees’ Terms of Reference here.


Standing Committee Membership October 2019 to October 2021

Clinical Practice Improvement Committee

  • Dr Philip Crispin (Chair)
    Canberra Hospital, Haematology, ACT

    Dr Crispin is a clinical haematologist and Clinical Director of the Blood Counts Program at Canberra Hospital and lecturer at Australian National University Medical School. He serves on the National Blood Transfusion Committee of Australian Red Cross Lifeblood, the National Blood Authority’s Intravenous Immunoglobulin Haematology Working Group and the Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion’s Clinical Practice Improvement Committee.  Dr Crispin’s current projects include perioperative and obstetric patient blood management, intravenous immunoglobulin use, detection of iron deficiency, and exploring alternative measurement strategies to guide red cell and platelet transfusion.

  • Ms Sandra Russell
    Pathology QLD, Cairns Hospital, QLD
  • Dr Anastazia Keegan
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood, Perth, WA
  • Ms Christine Akers
    Alfred Hospital, Pathology Department, VIC
  • Ms Kristen Brown
    Murrumbidgee Local Health District, Blood Management, Wagga District Office, NSW
  • Ms Alana Delaforce
    Mater Health Services, South Brisbane, QLD
  • Ms Elizabeth Thrift
    New Zealand Blood Service, Palmerston North Hospital, New Zealand
  • Dr Amanda Ormerod
    LaTrobe Regional Health, LaTrobe Hospital, VIC
  • Ms Fiona King
    New Zealand Blood Service, Blood Bank, New Zealand

The Clinical Practice Improvement Committee will provide a forum to:

  • Promote the sharing of experience in clinical transfusion practice across all jurisdictions including public and private sectors
  • Coordinate initiatives to ensure the safety, quality and cost effectiveness of transfusion practice
  • Develop and/or disseminate audit, benchmarking and practice improvement tools
  • Promote, where appropriate, the standardisation and simplification of practice
  • Develop clinical practice guidelines
  • Provide an Australian and New Zealand perspective on transfusion medicine to Council, to inform and influence political decision-making
  • Implement strategies to close the haemovigilance loop

Education Standing Committee

  • Dr Sandra Minck (Chair)
    Transfusion Policy and Education, Australian Red Cross Blood Service, QLD

    Sandy is a Medical Officer with the Transfusion Policy and Education team at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood. She has also worked in Medical Services where she was responsible for donor and product safety. Sandy is General Practitioner with over 20 years of medical education and communications experience.


    She is involved in the design and development of educational materials, tools and resources across a variety of platforms including online learning, web-based and stand-alone applications. A key focus is improving safe and appropriate transfusion practices and the application of patient blood management principles. Sandy is currently involved in a clinical practice improvement project in collaboration with a regional health service with the aim of improving maternity blood management.

  • Ms Jo Cameron
    Immunoglobulin Governance, National Blood Authority, ACT
  • Dr Anastazia Keegan
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood, Perth, WA
  • Ms Rebecca McLean
    Transfusion Medicine Safety, Fiona Stanley Hospital, WA
  • Ms Melissa May
    Manager Strategic Projects, New Zealand Blood Service, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Mr David Peterson
    Bloodsafe eLearning Australia, Women's and Children's Hospital, SA
  • Ms Olivia Mackenzie
    Critical Care, St Andrews Hospital, Adelaide SA

The Education Standing Committee will:

  • Identify and engage stakeholders by actively contacting colleges and societies and other relevant groups to identify their educational requirements
  • Assess current gaps and opportunities for the ANZSBT to further develop transfusion medicine knowledge and practice
  • Disseminate information to meet the needs of stakeholders, using a variety of media
  • Further develop the ANZSBT website as a central transfusion medicine resource

Transfusion Science Standing Committee

  • Ms Nicole Zacher (Chair)
    Haematology, Capital Pathology, ACT

    Nicole Zacher has worked at Capital Pathology (Sonic Healthcare) for over 18 years. Her current role is Senior Scientific Officer in bloodbank and haematology.


    Nicole has positions on several professional committee’s in addition to chair of the ANZSBT Transfusion Standing Committee, these include chair of the Sonic Bloodbank ADU, member of the Australian Institute of Medical Scientists, The Blood User Reference Group (NBA) and Appropriate Use of Blood Reference Group (AUBRG) ACT Department of Health.

    Her knowledge of Sonic Healthcare’s Laboratory Information System has provided her with another special interest role of Business Analyst within the clinical laboratory department and Sonic, this role is responsible for developing IT solutions and interfaces to improve user experience and confirm with safety standards.

  • Mr Simon Benson
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood, NSW
  • Ms Elizabeth Lennox
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood, QLD
  • Ms Annette Le Viellez
    Transfusion Medicine, PathWest, WA
  • Mr Greg Irwin
    Haematology Department, Pathology North, NSW
  • Ms Helen Stathopoulos
    SA Pathology, Transfusion Medicine Unit, SA
  • Mr Tony Greenfield
    Liverpool Hospital, NSWHPSouth Liverpool Blood Bank, NSW
  • Ms Diane Woolacott
    Northland District Healthboard, Blood Bank Whangarei Hospital, New Zealand
  • Ms Samantha Lennard
    Queensland Health, Transfusion, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, QLD

The Transfusion Science Standing Committee will:

  • Develop and maintain scientific and technical guidelines relating to transfusion practice
  • Develop ‘position statement’ documents in the areas of transfusion science on behalf of the Society
  • Provide an Australian and New Zealand perspective on scientific aspects of transfusion to Council, to inform and influence political decision-making
  • Oversee research activities of the Society, including assessment of research grant applications
  • Respond as required on scientific and technical questions